-Concerts have already been performed-

The second out of four concerts this season in which the Concertgebouw Orchestra explores the relation between Bach and Brahms with conductors Iván Fischer and Daniel Harding. ‘Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich’, is one of Bach’s earliest cantatas, with a notable intimate orchestration. The chaconne at the end is the base of the last part of Brahms’ Fourth Symphony. Brahms was an admirer of Bach from an early age, and collaborated on editions of his music. By combining Bach’s polyphony with classical forms in his compositions, Schönberg called Brahms – known as conservative – remarkably progressive. Bach’s motets form a pinnacle in polyphonic music. In the motet ‘Jesu meine Freude’ alternating chorals and verses form a symmetrical structure around the central quote from the Bible: ‘Ihr aber seid nich fleischlich, sondern geistlich’.

Nederlands Kamerkoor
Koninklijk Concertgebouworkest
Judith van Wanroij soprano
Daniel Harding conductor

Johann Sebastian Bach – Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich Cantate BWV 150 / Jesu meine Freude Motet BWV 227
Johannes Brahms – Symfonie nr. 4


Concert calendar

  • Fri. 23 October 2015 20:15

    Het Concertgebouw - Amsterdam

    order tickets
  • Sun. 25 October 2015 14:15

    Het Concertgebouw - Amsterdam

    order tickets

"*" indicates required fields

Geen titel*