At the top for almost 90 years

The Netherlands Chamber Choir was founded in 1937 by Felix de Nobel, an influential figure in the world of classical music, known both as a pianist and a conductor. Under his leadership in the 1950s, the choir gained such a reputation that it received invitations from around the world. Renowned composers like Poulenc and Frank Martin began writing music for the choir at his invitation.

After Felix de Nobel's departure in 1972, six distinguished chief conductors followed: Hans van de Hombergh (1972-1976), Kerry Woodward (1977-1980), Uwe Gronostay (1988-1997), T├Ánu Kaljuste (1998-2000), Stephen Layton (2002-2005), and Risto Joost (2011-2015). Since 2015, Peter Dijkstra has been the chief conductor, continuing the tradition of commissioning compositions.

Over the past decades, significant composers have written works for the choir, including David Lang, Michel van der Aa, Sofia Goebaidoelina, James MacMillan, Caroline Shaw, among others from a long and impressive list. The choir performs worldwide, from Lincoln Center in New York City to the Konzerthaus in Vienna, and from the Hong Kong Arts Festival to the Adelaide Arts Festival.

At the top for almost 90 years

Chief conductor Peter Dijkstra

In September 2015, Peter Dijkstra was appointed as the chief conductor of the Netherlands Chamber Choir. His appointment elicited almost a sigh of relief from choir enthusiasts: finally, one of the most prominent choral conductors in the world - who had already served as chief conductor of the Swedish Radio Choir and the Bavarian Radio Choir - had come home. To 'his' Netherlands Chamber Choir.

Read more
Chief conductor Peter Dijkstra
Anna van Kooij
Never miss a concert update again?

Sign up for our concert updates!

  • be the first to know about new concerts
  • exclusive extras
  • priority on ticket sales
Keep me posted